When you are
working on a workflow in the Workflow Editor,
Save and
Save As validate the workflow before
saving, and issue an error message, without saving if the workflow
is not valid.
Save as Draft allows you to save
workflows you are building as work-in-progress. You can save your
current workflow changes in whatever state the workflow is in and
return to the workflow editor to complete the workflow at a later
time. You can also save the workflow changes periodically as you work.
Until a workflow has been fully edited and validated, it is invisible
in WorldServer except for the purpose of editing. That is, it will
appear in the page with the string
[draft] appended to the its
name. It will not appear in drop-down lists of workflows elsewhere
in WorldServer.
The
Save as Draft menu option can be used
for saving both new and pre-existing workflows as drafts. When a new
workflow is saved as a draft, you are required to enter a name for
the workflow draft. When a pre-existing workflow is saved as a draft,
the name of the pre-existing workflow is simply re-used, and there
is no way for you to save the workflow draft under a different name.
The
Save menu option cannot be used on the
workflow draft until it is complete. Attempting to
Save a workflow draft will fail workflow validation as usual until it
is fully completed. However, one can save the workflow as a draft
as many times as desired without any workflow validation. Once
Save is successfully performed on a workflow draft, it
is moved out of the “draft” state into a complete state and it will
now be visible in WorldServer.
If work has resumed on a previously completed workflow, it can
also be saved as a workflow draft. When a draft version of the complete
workflow is saved, the version of the complete workflow is still visible
and available in WorldServer. Both the original version and the newly
saved draft version of the workflow now co-exist in WorldServer. The
draft version exists for editing purposes only; in contrast, the original
version is still available for all purposes in WorldServer.
Until the draft version is saved as a complete workflow, the original
workflow before the draft was made persists in WorldServer just as
it was before drafting. Both the original and draft workflows must
have the same name. It is not possible to save the workflow draft
under a different name from the original workflow.
It is possible to
revert back to the original version, throwing
away the draft. For example, say you open a complete workflow for
editing and start making changes, then save the new version of the
workflow as a draft. If you then decide that you are going down the
wrong path and want to discard all your changes and start again with
the original complete workflow, this is what to do. Simply re-open
the complete workflow again for editing. WorldServer detects that
there is a draft version of this workflow available and gives you
two options:
-
Continue working on the draft version.
-
Discard the draft version and re-open the original version of
complete workflow again for editing.
After the draft version of the workflow is saved as a complete
workflow, the original version of the workflow is replaced and is
no longer visible in WorldServer. As usual in WorldServer, the original
version of the workflow persists as an invisible workflow if current
projects or tasks were using that version. But it is no longer available
for selection in WorldServer and will be garbage collected when it
is no longer in use.