You can add updates to tasks of currently ongoing projects without
losing any translation work that has already been done, as long as
you manually commit your changes to translation memory (for example,
by clicking
Save and
Update TM in the Browser Workbench). You do not need to
start new projects on the same assets.
 |
Note: If you are running in live translation memory mode, this update occurs
automatically and transparently for all segments with Pending Review or Reviewed status whenever
the segment cache is updated, without requiring you to manually commit
your outstanding work to translation memory . See Live Translation Memory Mode.
|
When you add a new version of an asset (or assets) to an existing
project, the corresponding assets will be canceled from the project
and new tasks will be started for the project. You are able to leverage
your previous work. The new assets are introduced to the project,
the new versions will leverage against the updated translation memories,
and the workflow process will proceed on the new versions of the assets
just like any newly added tasks.
Change detection and project update management is available via three
task view filters on the Projects page “Tree View” and also on the
tasks filter of the Project Task listing page for viewing and updating
tasks with updated assets:
-
all tasks with changed
assets – This view shows all tasks whose assets have been
updated since the task was segmented.
-
active tasks with changed
assets – This view shows all active (not completed or
canceled) tasks whose assets have been updated since the task was
segmented.
-
finished tasks with
changed assets – This view shows all completed or canceled
tasks whose assets have been updated since the task was segmented.
When you select one of these views, tasks with assets that have changed
since the task was segmented will have these assets marked in the
Task List with an "Asset changed" icon.
These task views have an additional
Update button (compared
to other views), which schedules for update all tasks selected in
the update view. When you click the
Update button, the
Update Tasks confirmation
dialog pops up; if you click
OK, all selected tasks
are put into a
Pending Update state. This dialog includes an
Include in project cost calculation check box, which, if
checked, causes all the work that has occurred in the tasks to be
updated in the project cost calculation.
 |
Note: When WorldServer has detected a changed asset in a task, only the Update button displays
for that asset—the Edit/Translate button does not display.
|
The tasks pending update are updated (canceled and restarted) when
a workflow step that allows for task update has been completed. If
the task is assigned to you, you will get a message like this:
The following tasks may be restarted after the steps assigned to you have been completed:
<list of tasks>
There is no limit on the number of times a task can be updated and
restarted in a project to pick up changed assets.
 |
Note: The Add to Project feature in WorldServer Explorer cannot
be used to add updated assets for active tasks to ongoing projects.
The Add to Project feature can be used for adding new assets to projects. However, if you try to use Add to Project for
existing assets, you will get the following message: You can use the Task Update functionality to tell WorldServer to pick up the changed asset.
|
You can define exactly at what points of the workflow tasks are permitted
to be updated, using the
Apply pending update after completing step check box
in the
Advanced Options dialog of any human or automatic action. The default setting of
this attribute is
true, so the default behavior of WorldServer is to restart tasks in
a
Pending update state
once the current workflow steps have been completed. Tasks will either
be restarted by a workflow engine once the current automatic step
completes, or by WorldServer once a user completes a human step in
the workflow.
 |
Note: To “update” a task with a
newer version of an asset, you first need to cancel the task. Unfortunately,
this can be a very harmful operation. For example, if a translator
has downloaded a translation kit and is working on this offline, canceling
the task will likely mean that the translator will not be able to
upload any of their work. This could potentially lead to major losses
in work. To avoid this problem, tasks can only be updated between
steps (for example, after one step finishes but before the next begins).
This solves the problem of a user getting a task canceled out from
underneath them.
|
In the default configuration, WorldServer allow updates to happen
after any step in a workflow. However, if you have sophisticated workflows,
you may want to create “protected regions” in your workflow during
which no task updates can be performed.
For example, if you are not using live translation memory and your
translators do not have direct access to
Save and Update TM,
then you would want to make sure that updates are not applied until
after the
Save step
in the workflow. This would ensure that you don’t lose any work between
the time the translation process started and the time the work was
saved to translation memory.
To create a “protected region” of your workflow, you disable the
Apply pending updates after completing
step option on every step, except the last, in the protected
region. Under this model, WorldServer waits until the task has exited
the protected region before applying an update.
The most conservative approach would be to say that updates can never
happen on an active task; updates can only happen when a task has
completed or canceled. To achieve this, turn off the
Apply pending updates after completing
step option on every step in the workflow. Under this
model, WorldServer waits until a task has completed or been canceled
to apply an update. Note that if a task finishes of its own accord
and is
Pending update, WorldServer will also automatically restart the task.