Background Jobs: Holding, Resuming, and Canceling Jobs
Assignments
> Background Jobs
To hold jobs
Placing a job on hold means preventing it from starting
even if it reaches the front of the background queue. To release
the hold on the job, resume it.
For example, you might want to
place a job on hold if you want it to run after other jobs run (another
way to handle this situation is to change the priority of the job).
You might also want to place a job on hold if you are waiting for
resources to be available before the job runs.
Remember that
a job on hold will never run. It is a good practice to occasionally
check the Job Views, my jobs on hold or all jobs on hold to
verify that jobs are not left on hold indefinitely.
Select
one or more jobs that are in the background queue, and that are
not running. You cannot place a job on hold if it is already running.
Click Hold.
On the
confirmation dialog box, click OK.
Your job is now on hold and is no longer displayed in
the active job view. A job on hold will not be considered for processing
until you resume it.
To resume jobs
Resuming
a job means releasing a job from being placed on hold. When you release
a job, it can start when it reaches the front of the background
queue.
Select
one or more jobs in the background queue that have been placed on
hold.
Click Resume.
On the
confirmation dialog box, click OK.
To cancel jobs
Canceling
a job means removing it from the background queue. You can cancel
a job even if it is running. However, you cannot cancel a job that
is already completed or that has been canceled.
Select
one or more jobs that are in the background queue and that have
not yet started.