You can control who can change a segment's
status with the
Step
Type option, which is available for all Human Steps in
a workflow on the
Advanced options pop-up. The
Step Type can be
None (the default),
Review, or
Translate. Depending on the Step Type selected for the current step, the Browser
Workbench restricts the status modification options available to the
user. The
Step Type option also defines how modifications to a segment content affect
the status of the segment.
 |
Note: If you are working
on an asset in ad hoc mode (that
is, outside of a workflow) the Step Type restrictions do not apply.
It is equivalent to a having a Step Type of None.
|
A Step Type of
None has the following effect on the user that performs the Human Step:
-
The user can change the segment’s translation status arbitrarily.
-
There is no connection between changing the segment content and the
translation status for the segment.
A Step Type of
Translate enforces the following restrictions in Browser Workbench for the
user that performs the Human Step:
-
The user cannot manually set a segment’s translation status to
Reviewed or
Rejected—they can only
mark the segment as
Pending Review or clear the segment’s translation status.
-
If a segment’s translation status is
Reviewed, any change
in the segment’s content resets the segment’s translation status to
Pending Review. Changes
in a segment comment are not considered to be content changes and
do not cause a change in the status.
A Step Type of
Review will enforce the following restrictions in Browser Workbench for
the user that performs the Human Step:
-
The user cannot manually set a segment’s translation status to
Pending Review—they
can only mark the segment as
Reviewed or
Rejected or clear the
segment’s translation status.
-
Any change in the segment’s content sets the segment’s translation
status to
Rejected.
These rules make sure that a translator cannot approve anything and
cannot change anything already approved without triggering an additional
review. On the other side, the reviewer cannot change anything without
approval from the translator.
If a status change was made by mistake and a user does not have permission
to undo it according to the rules above, then the user can restore
the previous status by rolling back the segment to the last history
entry.
If a segment is locked then no status change is available on the
segment.