To validate a
Proposed term or term entry
with a validation project using the
Validate TD button,
you must have an appropriate workflow set up. When you click
Validate TD, you are
prompted to supply the following:
-
A project name (actually, this name applies to a project group, because
projects are created for each locale).
-
A description of the project.
-
The validation workflow to use.
-
-
Whether to validate terms or term entries.
If you chose to validate terms, when you click
OK, terms in your terminology
database that need approval are sent through your validation workflow,
which creates a project for each language. Effectively, you have created
a project group. A project is created for each language, and tasks
are created for each individual term. When a term needing approval
is approved during the workflow process, its status will change to
Approved. In a typical validation
workflow, linguists assigned to the relevant locales are assigned
relevant terms.
If, instead, you
chose to validate term entries, when you click
OK, term entries in
your terminology database that need approval are sent through your
validation workflow, which creates a project with tasks for each entry,
and each entry can contain multiple terms.
Your workflow can be
as simple as the following:

Figure 80: Simple Validation Workflow
Be sure that the User
Type for the Workflow Role or specific user to whom the Review step
is assigned has
Can modify
TD and
Can validate
terms and term entries privileges. When an assigned user
with these permissions selects a task in the Task List and clicks
Edit, the
View Term dialog box
displays for the term and the user can approve the term by selecting or . The user can also choose to
Reject the term or
Deactivate it
As Deprecated. The
term viewer, when opened in this mode, only allows changes or validation
for the term being viewed. You cannot pop open other term viewers
to manipulate other terms. Also, you cannot add or delete other terms
in this term viewer.