Confirmation Levels

You assign a confirmation level to a document or other translatable item to indicate the stage of the translation - for example whether the translation is still in draft or has been translated.

Where confirmation levels are used

Confirmation levels are used in the following places:

  • You can set and view confirmation levels in the Translation Editor.

  • Confirmation levels are displayed in the project status.

  • You can specify a confirmation level above which translated segments are written to the TM. These settings are set in the project settings, Translation Memory Updates. They common to all language pairs in a project, specified under the batch task settings for all language pairs.

  • Typically the workflow routing of a translatable item is based in part on the item's confirmation levels. The workflow sends an item to a user, such as a translator, who works on it and then sets the confirmation level before releasing the item back into the workflow.

How confirmation levels are set: the usual path through confirmation levels

Typically, when a user has completed their assigned work on a translatable item, they set the next higher confirmation level. The usual path through the translation process is as follows:

  1. Not translated (lowest confirmation level)

  2. Draft

  3. Translated

  4. Translation approved

  5. Authorized (highest confirmation level)

Confirmation levels - table

Confirmation level

When applied to a segment

When applied to a document (translatable item)

Not translated

No translation has been done on the segment.

Typically this means that the segment has no translation in the TM, and the translator has not yet produced any translation.

Studio Online Editor does not spell check not translated segments.

The item has been imported and pre-processed, but has not been sent to a translator.

Draft

A translator has started a translation but has not finished it.

Typically, if a segment has a fuzzy match in the TM, the translation software the TM translation into the target segment, and marks the segment as draft.

 

Translated

A translator or TM has provided a translation for the segment.

Typically, if a segment has a 100% match in the TM, the translation software inserts the TM translation into the target segment and marks the segment as translated.

In SDL Studio Online, if a user edits a translated segment, the confirmation level changes to draft.

 

All segments are past the Draft level. At least one is Translated. None are Translation rejected. (Some might be Translation confirmed or Authorized.)

A translator usually marks an item as Translated after they have translated all the segments, before sending the item for translation review.

Translation rejected

The segment translation has been rejected by a reviewer.

All segments are past the Draft level. At least one segment is Translation rejected.

The reviewer has rejected the translation of the item. Typically, the reviewer sends the item back to the translator.

Translation confirmed

The segment translation has been confirmed by a reviewer.

All segments in the item have the status Translation confirmed or Authorization confirmed.

Usually the reviewer confirms the translation before sending the item to be authorized at a business manager level.

A reviewer can mark an item upgrade as Translation confirmed and upgrade all segments to Translation confirmed.

Authorization rejected

The segment translation has been rejected at authorization stage.

At least one segment in the item has the status Authorization rejected, no segments have the status Translation rejected.

Authorization confirmed

The segment translation is authorized (completed).

All segments have the status Authorization confirmed.

An authorized user can authorize the translations of all segments.

 

      We welcome your comments about the documentation. Click here to send us an email: techcomms@sdl.com.

Topic:  Published: 27-Jun-2012