Changing User Permissions to a Resource

Before you start

At initial configuration: ensure that an appropriate role exists

Usually the SDL Studio GroupShare administrator sets up roles as part of initial configuration and then changes the roles very infrequently.

Roles are system-wide. Edit the roles in the GroupShare system configuration screen. Some roles (standard system roles) have a fixed set of permissions and cannot be edited. You can create and change all other roles.

When you create a role, add the permissions that you want the role to have. You cannot modify, add or remove the permissions themselves.

At initial configuration or as required: create an organization

Usually the GroupShare administrator creates organizations as part of initial configuration and only as required after that.

Change user permissions to a resource

Modify the list of roles assigned by an organization.

Give a user access to a resource

Edit the list of roles assigned by an organization (or by a higher organization): add the user and the user role to the list.

Increase a user's access to a resource

Do any of the following. These are given in approximate order of strength:

  • Edit the list of roles assigned by an organization and replace the user's role with a more powerful role or add an additional role for the user.

  • Edit the list of roles assigned by a higher organization to replace the user role with a more powerful role or add an additional role for the user.

  • Edit the user's role and add more permissions.

The last method is fairly drastic because it affects the permissions of all users with that role in any organization

Note: When you give a user a permission, ensure the user has the equivalent view permission, so that the user can see the resource.
For example, when you give a user Edit Translation memory, also give View Translation memory.

Restrict a user's access to a resource

To take away a permission for a resource from a user: examine all the lists of roles that cover the resource's organization and ensure that the user does not have a role that grants the permission in any of these lists of assigned roles.

You also need to consider that a user might have access to a resource using a resource link.

Remove a user's access to a resource

To remove user access to a resource, remove the user from all lists of roles that make up the effective list for the applicable organization.

Similarly, remove the user from the membership lists that apply to any links to the resource.

Search by keyword for related topics

creating editing role

standard role

assigning permission

      We welcome your comments about the documentation. Click here to send us an email: techcomms@sdl.com.

Topic:  Published: 27-Jun-2012