Licensing

User Licenses

Each GroupShare installation has a maximum count of current users, in the form of CALs.

When you access GroupShare as a client—that is, from Studio or from a browser—GroupShare grants you a user license automatically if one is available for your current activity. However, if the maximum number of concurrent users is already reached, it will instead notify you that the maximum number of CALs has been allocated.

After allocating a license to a user, the user keeps the license only while they are active. If a user is inactive for five minutes, GroupShare takes back the license, and tries to grant it again when the user again becomes active.

To see the number of CALs currently allocated and used, click the License tab.

Product Licensing

A user accessing SDL Studio GroupShare from Studio or from a browser does not need a product license to use GroupShare.

However, to start the GroupShare server program (so that clients can use it), you do need a product license. Get this from SDL in the form of an activation key. For more information about product licensing, see the licensing help at SDL Licensing Help.

Search by keyword for related topics

Licens* CAL

      We welcome your comments about the documentation. Click here to send us an email: techcomms@sdl.com.

Topic:  Published: 27-Jun-2012