About Translation Quality Assessment

Use the Translation Quality Assessment (TQA) feature to measure the quality of a translation using your chosen criteria.


TQA configuration

As a project manager, you choose a TQA configuration and use it to automatically assess the quality of a translation document.


The TQA configuration specifies:

  1. Categories and subcategories that reviewers will use to classify the translation issues in a document.
  2. Severities to define custom metrics you want to use to assess translation quality.
  3. Score to measure the importance of each category or subcategory of an issue.
  4. Pass/Fail Threshold to define the maximum number of penalty points that SDL Trados Studio admits before failing the translation document.
  5. Document Types to organize and classify files based on specific needs and to atomize reports.


Example of a TQA configuration

The image below shows an example of a TQA configuration with two categories, with their defined sub-categories, three severities and a threshold limit of five points per each ten words. This means that Studio fails the TQA check for a translation document of 100 words if the reviewer indicates issues that sum up more than 50 penalty points.



Review based on the TQA configuration

As a reviewer, you use the metrics available in the TQA configuration to evaluate translations.

Assess Quality mode

The reviewing is done in the Assess Quality mode.

The Assess Quality mode can only be enabled for projects with an available TQA configuration.

Translation issues report

As you review translations in TQA mode using the metrics defined in the configuration, Studio automatically computes the score corresponding to each metric that you use. If the issues in the document exceed the limit specified on the Pass/Fail Threshold, Studio marks the document as failed.

Related topics

Creating a Translation Quality Assessment Configuration

TQA Metrics

Changing TQA Configuration

Reviewing Documents in TQA Mode

TQAs window in the Editor view