About Batch Editing and Deleting

Batch editing enables you to quickly apply the same changes to many translation units in a translation memory at the same time without having to edit each one individually. Batch deleting enables you to identify a set of translation units and delete them all using a single batch delete. You use a filter to identify the translation units to be edited or deleted.

Batch processes are performed by SDL Trados Studio. When you apply a batch edit or delete to a translation memory, you are not required to authorize the editing or deleting of each individual translation unit affected by the batch process. However, you are required to set up each batch process by specifying:

For example, in order to batch delete translation units you have to create a filter that identifies the translation units to be deleted. However, once you have done this, SDL Trados Studio searches the translation memory for all translations units that match the filter and automatically deletes them.

 

NOTE

You cannot roll-back or undo the changes made by a batch edit or delete.

Batch Editing

You can make the following types of changes to translation units using a Batch Edit:

You can combine as many of these as you want in a single batch edit. You can specify that all of the updates should be applied to all matching translation units or you can specify that after one update has been made, no further edits should be made to the same translation unit.

You can save the details of a Batch Edit to a file and use it again in the future.

 

 

Related Topics

How to Batch Edit Translation Units

How to Batch Delete Translation Units