Setting Up User Type Permissions for Project Managers
The following table includes the default and recommended permissions for the Project Manager User Type.
Permission
Comments
Home tab
Default
 
Announcements
Default
 
 
Can post announcements
Default
 
 
Can post HTML announcements
Recommended
 
 
Can delete announcements
Default
 
 
Can access the Content Wizard
 
 
Can create projects
Recommended
Assignments tab
Default
 
Projects
Default
 
 
View drop-down menu
Default
 
 
 
Can view active projects assigned to user's locale and workgroup
Default
 
 
 
Can view completed and canceled projects assigned to user's locale and workgroup
Default
 
 
 
Can view all active projects
Default
 
 
 
Can view all completed and canceled projects
Recommended
 
 
Can view scoping information
Recommended
 
 
 
Can view costing information
Recommended
 
 
 
Can view excluded/canceled tasks
Recommended
 
 
"Change Attributes" button
Recommended
 
 
"Cancel" button
Default
 
 
"Change Priority" button
Recommended
 
 
"Tree View" option
Default
 
 
Tasks
Default
 
 
 
View drop-down menu
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view all tasks
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view assigned and claimed tasks
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view active tasks
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view completed and canceled tasks
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view tasks on human steps
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view tasks on automatic steps
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view tasks on error steps
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view tasks on cancel steps
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view tasks on parallel review steps
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view tasks on sub-workflow steps
Default
 
 
 
 
Can view tasks with changed assets
Recommended
 
 
 
"Create New Project" button
Recommended
 
 
 
"Claim" button
Default
 
 
 
"Unclaim" button
Default
 
 
 
"Edit/Translate" button
Default
 
 
 
 
"In Browser Workbench..." button
Default
 
 
 
 
"In Desktop Workbench..." button
Default
 
 
 
 
"In External Editor..." button
Recommended
 
 
 
"Export" button
Default
 
 
 
"Import" button
Default
 
 
 
"Complete" button
Default
 
 
 
"Cancel Tasks" button
Default
 
 
 
 
Can cancel tasks claimed by other users
Default
 
 
 
"Update" button
Recommended
 
 
 
"Change Assignees" button
Recommended
 
 
 
"Change Due Date" button
Recommended
 
 
 
"Change Properties" button
Recommended
 
 
 
"Download" button
Default
 
 
 
"Upload" button
Recommended
 
 
 
"Change Attributes" button
Recommended
 
 
 
 
"Move Tasks" button
 
 
Issues
Default
 
 
View drop-down menu
Default
 
 
 
Can view all issues
Default
 
 
 
Can view issues assigned to user's locale and workgroup
Default
 
Quotes
Default
 
 
Can create quotes
Default
 
 
 
 
Can override client settings for quote approval
 
 
 
Can manually change quote status
Recommended
 
 
 
Can update approved quotes
 
 
Background Jobs
Default
 
 
Can create background jobs
Default
 
 
Can create foreground jobs
Default
 
 
 
Can view all background jobs
 
 
 
 
Can cancel, hold, or resume any background jobs
Default is ON but you should turn off this permission for Project Managers.
 
 
Can cancel, hold, or resume the user's background jobs
Default
 
 
 
Can change priority of any background jobs
 
 
 
Can change priority of the user's background jobs
Default
 
Workflow Engine Queue
Default
 
 
Can view all tasks
Recommended
 
 
 
Can cancel all tasks
Default is ON but you should turn off this permission for Project Managers.
 
 
 
Can change priority of all tasks
 
Explorer Tab
Default
 
Assets Menu
Default
 
 
"New" option
Default
 
 
"View" option
Default
 
 
"Delete" option
Default
 
 
"Download" option
Default
 
 
"Upload" option
Default
 
 
"Lock" option
Default
 
 
"Unlock" option
Default
 
 
 
Properties" option
 
 
Edit Menu
Default
 
 
"Copy" option
Default
 
 
"In Browser Workbench" option
Default
 
 
"In Desktop Workbench" option
Default
 
 
"In External Editor" option
Recommended
 
 
"Find" option
Recommended
 
Tools Menu
Default
 
 
 
"Submit" option
 
 
 
"Export Translation Kit" option
Default
 
 
"Import Translation Kit" option
Default
 
 
 
"Property Search" option
 
 
 
"Clear Segment Cache" option
Recommended
 
 
 
"Linkage Editor" option
 
 
Project Menu
Default
 
 
"Scope" option
Default
 
 
 
Can view costing information
Default
 
 
"Create Project" option
Default
 
 
 
Can create projects for all workgroups
Default
 
 
"Add to Project" option
Recommended
Tools Tab
Default
 
Term Databases
Default
 
 
Can browse TD
Default
 
 
 
Can view terms outside user's locales
Default
 
 
 
 
Can modify TD
 
 
 
 
 
 
Can modify term statuses
 
 
 
 
 
 
Can modify terms outside user's locales
 
 
 
 
 
 
Can delete terms
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Can delete results set
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Can purge TD
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Can delete term entries
 
 
 
 
 
Can import terms
 
 
 
Can export from TD
Default
 
 
 
Can add or modify public TD attributes filters
 
 
 
Can submit proposals
Note: All user types that do not have TD write permissions should have this permission enabled.
Recommended
 
Translation Memories
Default
 
 
Can browse TM
Default
 
 
 
 
Can modify TM during Upload
 
 
 
 
Can modify TM
Recommended
 
 
 
 
Can import entries into TM
Recommended
 
 
 
 
Can delete entries from TM
Recommended
 
 
 
 
 
Can purge TM
Recommended
 
 
 
 
 
Can delete result set
Recommended
 
 
 
 
Can change status of TM entries
Recommended
 
 
 
Can export from TM
Default
 
 
 
Can add or modify public TM attributes filters
 
 
Personal Preferences
Default
 
Report Center
Note: To support Single Sign-on, Report Center users must have the Web Services permission enabled for the User Type. Therefore, all Report Center users must have both the Report Center and the Web Services permissions enabled.
Recommended
 
 
Machine Translations
 
Management tab
Default
 
User Setup
Recommended
 
 
Clients
Default
 
 
Users
Recommended
 
 
 
Can modify users from user's workgroup only
Recommended
 
 
 
User Types
 
 
 
Vendors
Recommended
 
 
 
Workgroups
 
 
Asset Interface System
Default
 
 
 
AIS Mounts
 
 
 
 
View and Change Properties
 
 
 
 
 
Change System Properties
 
 
 
 
 
Change Custom Properties
 
 
 
 
AIS Property Search
 
 
 
 
AIS Triggers
 
 
 
 
Content Categories
 
 
 
 
AIS Masks
 
 
Business Rule Linkage
Default
 
 
Locales
Default
 
 
Linkage
Default
 
 
Default Workflow Table
Default
 
 
Project Types
Default
 
 
Rules
Default
 
 
Recurrences
Default
 
Workflow
Default
 
 
Workflows
Default
 
 
 
Can edit workflows
Default
 
 
Workflow Roles
Default
 
 
Workflow Phases
Recommended
 
Linguistic Tool Setup
Default
 
 
Term Database Setup
Default
 
 
TD Groups Setup
Default
 
 
Translation Memory Setup
Default
 
 
TM Groups Setup
Default
 
 
 
MT Configurations
 
 
 
Filter Configurations
Default
 
 
Filter Groups Setup
Recommended
 
 
 
Scoping Configurations
 
 
 
Cost Models Setup
Recommended
 
 
 
Cost Models
Recommended
 
 
 
Cost Model Rules
Recommended
 
 
Quality Models
Recommended
 
 
Administration
 
 
 
 
Licenses
 
 
 
 
Notification Content
 
 
 
 
Notification Delivery
 
 
 
 
Useful Link Setup
 
 
 
 
Customization
 
 
 
 
System Logs
 
 
 
 
Authentication
 
 
 
 
Export Objects
 
 
 
 
Import Objects
 
General Options
Default
 
Browser Workbench
Default
 
 
Can save asset
Default
 
 
Can save asset and update TM
Default
 
 
Can split and merge segments
Default
 
 
Can comment on locked segments
Recommended
 
 
Click and Edit
 
 
 
 
Can edit placeholders
 
 
 
Can unlock assets locked by other users
 
 
Web Services
Default
 
 
Can remove objects using Web Services
Recommended
 
TransPort
 
 
 
Home page
 
 
 
My Account
 
 
 
Can view word counts and cost estimates
 
 
 
Can view word counts only
 
 
 
Can view projects
 
 
 
 
Can view projects created by other client users
 
 
 
 
Can update existing projects
 
 
 
 
 
Can update custom project attributes
 
 
 
 
 
Can update project due dates
 
 
 
 
Can create projects
 
 
 
 
Can add files to existing projects
 
 
 
 
Can cancel tasks or projects
 
 
 
Can view quotes
 
 
 
 
Can view quotes created or requested by other client users
 
 
 
 
Can create quotes
 
 
 
 
Can update quotes
 
 
 
 
 
Can update quote system info such as due dates, assets, and locales
 
 
 
 
 
Can update custom quote attributes
 
 
 
 
 
Can update approved quotes
 
 
 
 
 
Can approve quotes manually
 
 
 
 
 
Can abandon quotes manually
 
Parent Topic
User Type Permissions