|
WorldServer Component
|
Symptom
|
Cause
|
Solution
|
Notes
|
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Project Creation
|
Project not created.
|
The
source folder contains no files.
|
Copy
the source files into the source language folder.
|
WorldServer will
not start a project if there are no files in the source language folder.
|
|
For
at least one human action step, there is no assignable user configured
for a target locale.
|
Ensure
that the users eligible for human action steps are configured for
the appropriate locales.
|
WorldServer will
not start a project if any human step has no eligible users. To be
eligible, a user must be configured for the target locale.
|
||
|
For
an automatic error step, there is no assignable user configured for
a target locale.
|
Ensure
that users assigned to Auto Error steps (often “admin”) are configured for all locales.
|
The assignee
for the Auto Error step of a workflow must be configured for ALL target
locales.
|
||
|
Project
Execution
|
Task
appears to hang.
|
Workflow
is waiting for all tasks to reach a project scope step.
|
During
workflow design, make sure that all steps are capable of reaching
the project scope step. During execution, either wait for completion
or cancel the project.
|
A project scope
step cannot start until all tasks reach the step. If the workflow
is designed so that a step cannot reach the project scope step, then
cancel the project and redesign the workflow.
|
|
Browser
Workbench
|
The
Workbench pre-populates target language segments with previous translations
that are not in translation memory.
|
WorldServer
caches translations.
|
Methods
for clearing the cache include making a change to the source file,
or using the Clear Segment automatic action in the workflow.
|
Caching can occasionally
cause confusion or be otherwise undesirable.
|
|
Workflow
Editor
|
The
Change Assignees screen can be confusing.
|
It
is not obvious that you must set assignees for one workflow step at
a time.
|
Keep
in mind that the assignees displayed apply only to the workflow step
selected. Change the workflow step to view or change the assignees
for a different step.
|
Changes made
in the Change Assignees To section apply to the step currently selected
in the Workflow Step choice list.
|
|
Java
applets
|
Java “Serialization” error occurs when displaying
WorldServer tools.
|
This
error occurs after an upgrade in certain situations.
|
On
the client machine, restart your browser.
|
This error can
occur if you upgrade WorldServer software on the server and a browser
is open on the client, preventing automatic upgrades from happening
on the client. Restart the browser to initiate the updates.
|
|
Desktop Workbench
|
Changes
made in Desktop Workbench appear to be lost when user re-opens a project
that has not yet been uploaded or exported.
|
User
is re-opening the XLZ file. (The XLZ file contains the original project
that was exported from WorldServer.)
|
Desktop
Workbench automatically saves work-in-progress state in a .wsprj file,
not the XLZ file (XLZ files are only for exchanging projects between
WorldServer and Desktop Workbench).
|
To re-open work-in-progress,
open the .wsprj file, not the .xlz file. By default, the .wsprj file
is stored in My Documents > Idiom >
My Projects.
|
|
Script
error upon uploading from Desktop Workbench to WorldServer.
|
“Session client check” is on.
|
In
WorldServer, you must turn “Session Client Check” off for upload to work directly from Desktop Workbench.
|
In general.properties,
remove the “#” before “session_client_check=off”. Restart WorldServer.
|
|
|
Terminology
Databases
|
WorldServer
is not showing matches for terminology database entries.
|
The
terminology database entries have not yet been validated.
|
Validate
the entries, or disable Validation on the terminology database, then
remove the entries, and re-create them.
|
If Validation
was enabled when the terminology database entries were created, they
must be verified before WorldServer will use them.
|
|
Segmentation
|
A
change to the translation environment does not initiate resegmentation.
|
The
cached segmentation is used.
|
To
trigger resegmentation, either use the automatic action Clear Segment or change and save the
asset.
|
For example,
if you have already segmented an asset, and then reassign the TM and
create a project, the cached segmentation is used and the asset is
not resegmented. Initiate segmentation manually.
|
|
Translation Memory
|
Zero, or near-zero translation memory leverage.
|
The
translation memory attribute is not set correctly on the target language
folder.
|
In
Explorer, select the target folder, and use Asset> Properties to assign the correct translation memory. Or,
if you can use the same translation memory for all target languages,
assign that translation memory as you set up the job folders.
|
|
|
The source and/or
target languages are not aligned between the translation memory and
the project.
|
Check the language
settings on the project’s source locale and the translation memory,
and on the project’s target locales and the translation memory. Make
sure they are in sync.
|
|