Overview: Translating Documents

Documents are translated in the Editor window of the Editor view. You can have several documents open at the same time but only the active document can be edited or saved. To edit a target language segment, simply click inside the segment and start typing.

When a document is opened for translation, the Translation configuration is used. This means that the layout of the windows is designed to facilitate tasks you need to perform while translating.

The options available on the Home tab and Review tab change so that you can select Confirm (Translated) to indicate that the translation is complete.

Also, the Translation Memory and the Terminology windows are automatically displayed at the top of the screen to give you easier access to your translation resources. If you prefer to translate with the Editor window at the top of the screen and the Translation Memory and Terminology windows at the bottom, use the Alternative Translation Layout option which is available on the View tab. You can also personalize the layouts by moving the windows around and you can return to their default settings at any time.

 

You can open a document for translation by choosing:

 

Option

Description

 

Open File for Translation

Use this command to open a file for translation from the active project in SDL Trados Studio. This automatically opens any translation memories, termbases and settings associated with the project.

Click here for step-by-step instructions.

Translate Single Document

Use the Translate Single Document command to open a document and start a new translation or continue a translation. You can also quickly open a document by drag-and-dropping it from your computer into the Editor View Navigation Pane or into the Editor Window.

NOTE

  • When you create a translation using this method, a project is automatically created for you and the *.sdlxliff file is added to it. The project is given the same name as the document you opened. Settings for your active document can then be specified in the Project Settings dialog box where you can select translation memories, termbases and batch processing settings.

  • The options that you define in this dialog box when you first open a document for that language pair, become the default options for this language pair and are displayed in the Options dialog box and are used if you create a project.

Click here for step-by-step instructions.

 

When all segments in the document are confirmed and their status is Translated, the status of the document changes to Translated.

 

Related Topics

How to Create a New Translation Using Translate Single Document

How to Open a File for Translation

How to Translate a Document

How to Confirm the Translation

How to Unconfirm the Translation