Assign Files to Users and Phases

You can assign files from a GroupShare project to one or more users to complete the tasks specific to a translation phase. For example, you can assign files to reviewers during the Review phase.

By default, all the files in a GroupShare project are initially assigned to the user who added the files to the GroupShare project and are set to the Preparation phase.  

 

To assign files to users:

  1. In the Files view, right-click on the selected files in the source language and choose the Assign to Users in Phase option from the shortcut menu (you can use Shift and Ctrl to select multiple files).
  2. Select the phase for which you want to create the assignment. Studio displays the Assign Users to the <...> Phase dialog box with the list of users currently assigned to work on the files in the selected phase.
  3. To add new users to the list of users assigned to work on the selected files, click Add and select from the users available to your GroupShare role.
  4. Click OK to close the dialog box and send the assignment to the selected users.

Notifications

Each time you change the users assigned to a phase, SDL GroupShare 2014 automatically sends:

  • An assignment change notification email to inform the users that they have been added/removed from the list of users working on the files in that specific phase. This email is sent to the assigned/removed users only when the files reach the phase for which you have assigned the users to work on the files.

Each time you change the phase of for one or more files in a GroupShare project, SDL GroupShare 2014 automatically sends:

  • A phase change notification email to inform the users assigned to work on the files in that phase that they can start working on the files.

Required GroupShare Permissions

To assign files to users, you have to be member of a GroupShare role with the Assign Files permission. Make sure that the users are assigned to the appropriate roles that will allow them to access the files and perform the required tasks.

GroupShare is built with some standard roles, which correspond to the most common jobs that users do. You can customize GroupShare standard roles to add or remove permissions, or you can create new roles for the specific jobs that users can perform on your projects. For more information about GroupShare roles and permissions, refer to the SDL GroupShare Help.

Unassign files

To remove an user from the lists of users assigned to work on a GroupShare project file:

  1. In the Files view, select the file for which you want to cancel an assignment
  2. Right-click on the selected file and choose Assign Users in Phase > [Phase] from the shortcut menu. The Assign Users to the <...> Phase dialog box is displayed.

  3. Select a user from the Selected Users list and click Remove.

  4. Click OK to save the changes and close the  Assign Users to the <...> Phase dialog box

 

When the file reaches the phase for which you have unassigned the users, they will receive an email from SDL Studio GroupShare informing them that they no longer have access to the file in that phase.

 

Related Topics

About File Assignments

Change Phase

      We welcome your comments about the documentation. Click here to send us an email: techcomms@sdl.com.

Topic:  Published: November 10, 2014