How to Change When Track Changes is Automatically Turned On or Off

By default, Track Changes is automatically on when you open a document for review or sign-off. However, when applying a translation from the TM, the content inserted into the target segment from the TM is not tracked as a change.

To turn it on:

  1. Select File > Options. The Options dialog box is displayed.

  2. Select Editor > Track Changes from the navigation tree.  

  3. On the right-hand pane, under General, select when you want track changes to be automatically turned on:

    • When you open a document for translation.

    • When you open a document for review.

    • When you open a document for sign-off

  1. When Track Changes is turned on, Studio will insert a matching translation from the TM into the target segment with no tracked changes applied. To change this behavior so that it applies tracked changes:
    • Select Editor > Automation from the navigation tree.

    • On the right-hand pane, under Translation Memory, clear the check box next to the Turn off Track Changes when applying TM matches option.

  2. Click OK to save your settings and close the Options dialog box.

 

Related Topics

About Track Changes

Why Tracked Changes in the Source are Useful

How to Track Suggested Changes

How to Accept or Reject Suggested Target Tracked Changes

How to Display Tracked Changes Details

How to Only Display Segments with Tracked Changes

How to Show or Hide Tracked Changes

How to Change the Formatting used in Track Changes

      We welcome your comments about the documentation. Click here to send us an email: techcomms@sdl.com.

Topic:  Published: November 10, 2014