Checking files out from a GroupShare server-based project allows you to have multiple users working on a project at the same time without needing to send work in packages for team members to complete. When you check out a file, it automatically downloads an up-to-date copy of the file to your computer and locks the copy of the file on the GroupShare Project Server so that other team members cannot check out the same file at the same time as you.
NOTE |
|
When you open a file for translation, review or sign-off that is in a GroupShare project, you will be prompted to check out that file prior to changing it. If you perform any batch tasks or create a package, the files are automatically checked out to you.
You may want to do this if you plan on working offline and do not want to edit the files at the item of check out or if you want to take ownership of the files and edit them at a later point.
In the Files view, right-click on the file or files you want and then select Check out.
You can now open the file for translation or review, run batch tasks on the files or create project packages to send work to team members who cannot access the Project Server.
A green check mark
will
now appear next to the file name and your username will appear in the
Checked Out To column.
NOTE |
If you are working with merged files, you can only perform a manual check out on the merged file and not the child files. Performing a check out on the merged file automatically checks out the child files as well. |
How to Open and Work with a GroupShare Project
How to Check In Completed Work to GroupShare
How to Get the Latest Version of the Files
About Working Offline with a GroupShare Project
Topic: Published: November 10, 2014