How to Update the Translation Memory with New Translations

This topic describes how to manually update the translation memory with all translations that have a status of Translated, Translation Approved and Signed Off.

Before you start, decide if you want to update the main translation memories or project translation memories. For example, you may want to update the main translation memories if you are working with a single file for translation or if you are a project manager. You may want to update the project translation memories if you want to leverage previously translated content from one document to the next in the project.

 

NOTE

 

  • You can change which translation statuses are used to update the translation memory.

  • By default, the segment translation is automatically added to the translation memory when you confirm a segment. This default behavior is controlled by a setting on the Options dialog box. To view or change this setting, select Tools > Options > Editor > Automation.

To update the translation memory:

  1. Choose the type of translation memory to update and which bilingual files you want to use to update the translation memory:

If...

Select

you want to update the translation memory with translations from all project files,

Project > Batch Tasks > Update Main Translation Memories or

Project > Batch Tasks > Update Project Translation Memories from the menu bar in any view.

you want to update the translation memory with the files you have selected in the Files view,

the files you want to use in the Files view and select

File > Batch Tasks > Update Main Translation Memories  or

File > Batch Tasks > Update Project Translation Memories

from the menu bar.

you want to update the translation memory for the active document in the Editor view,

File > Batch Tasks > Update Main Translation Memories or

File > Batch Tasks > Update Project Translation Memories

from the menu bar.

 

The Batch Tasks page of the Batch Processing wizard is displayed. If you chose to update a translation memory for the active document, your document is saved and closed. The task that you have chosen to perform is automatically selected in the Task Sequence box.  

  1. Click Next:

  2. If you selected all files in a project in step 1, the Files page is displayed. Review the list of files. If the list is correct, click Next. The Settings page is displayed.

  3. If you selected a single file or a group of files in step 1, the Settings page is displayed.

  1. The Translation Memory Updates settings are automatically displayed:

  2. If you want to add all translations from your bilingual document as a new translation unit instead of updating an existing translation unit, select Always add new translation to the translation memory.

  3. If you want to change the defaults selections defining the status a translation must have in order to update the translation memory, select and clear the check boxes under Translation Status.

  1. Select Translation Memory and Automated Translation > Update from the navigation tree. The Field Values box is displayed on the right. It lists the values that will be appended to each new translation added to this translation memory. Select different values if required.

NOTE

If the field values available are incorrect, you cannot change them here. Translation memory management is performed in the Translation Memory view.

  1. Click Finish to run the task and go to the Performing Tasks page.

  2. When the selected task/task sequence is complete, if you want to view the task results, display them in a report or save them to a file, select the task and click Task Results to display the Task Results dialog box.

  1. Click Close when you have finished working with the task results.

 

 

Related Topics

About Updating a Translation Memory