How to Specify Auto-Localization Settings

This topic describes how to specify auto-localization settings for, dates, times and measurements.

 

To specify auto-localization settings:

  1. Choose where you want to specify the settings:

To specify your

Then

default settings that are used when you create a project or open a document,

select Tools > Options from the menu bar. The Options dialog box is displayed.

settings for an active document or active project,

select Project > Project Settings > from the menu bar. The Project Settings dialog box is displayed.

settings for a project template,

select File > Setup > Project Templates from the menu bar. The Project Templates dialog box is displayed. Select the template for which you want to add a connection and click Edit. The Project Template Settings dialog box is displayed.

  1. Select Language Pairs > [Source Language Name - Target Language Name ] > Translation Memory and Automated Translation > Dates and Times from the navigation tree.

  1. Select how you want Dates and Times to be auto-localized.

  2. Select Language Pairs > [Source Language Name - Target Language Name ] > Translation Memory and Automated Translation > Measurements from the navigation tree.

  3. Select what spacing you want to use between the number and unit in a Measurement when it is auto-localized.  

NOTE

If the recognition settings in your selected translation memory are not enabled to recognize these items, auto-localization does not occur and these items are treated as normal, translatable words.  See Translation Memory Settings.

  1. If you also want auto-localization to occur at the same time as auto-substitution when applying matches form the translation memory, select Language Pairs > [Source Language Name - Target Language Name ] > Translation Memory and Automated Translation > Auto-substitution from the navigation tree. The Auto-substitution settings are displayed in the right pane.

  2. Select the check box next to each item you want to use in auto-substitution: variables, dates, times, numbers and measurements.

  3.  Click OK to close the Options, Project Settings or Project Template Settings dialog boxes.

 

Related Topics

Overview: Auto-Localization

Overview: Auto-Substitution