Step 3: Translate Files from a WorldServer Package

The translator receives the files for translation by opening a WorldServer project package sent by the project manager.

Open the WorldServer Package and File, and Specify Settings for Translation

  1. Click Open Package on the Home tab in the Projects view. Follow the instructions in the wizard to open the package.
  2. Close the wizard when it has finished opening the package.

The project is opened in Studio. The file-based and server-based translation memories assigned to the package*, as well as the assigned termbase, are automatically added to the list of translation resources to use for the project. The File Attributes, Project Attributes, QA Checker Profile configurations and TM Penalties** defined by the WorldServer project manager are automatically set.

  1. In the Files view, double-click on the file to open it for translation in the Editor.
  2. You can use a filter to display only the segments with tracked changes that need translation. To do this:
  1. To make sure any changes you make to target segments are closely tracked, select Review tab > Track Changes or press Ctrl+Alt+F9. The button is highlighted  to indicate that track changes is on.

Translate Segments that have Tracked Changes in the Source

Translate segments with tracked changes that have no matches from the TM and an empty target translation

  1. Place your cursor in a segment with an empty target segment. When no match is found it means:
  1. Enter a translation in the target segment. Your changes are tracked and should mirror what is in the source.
  2. Press Ctrl+Enter to confirm the translation. The translation memory is updated with all the tracked changes accepted.

Translate segments that have a match from the TM lookup with tracked changes rejected

  1. Place your cursor in the first target segment with tracked changes and this icon :  
  1. Edit the target translation that was inserted into your document from the TM. For each tracked change in the source, make an equivalent change in the target segment. This allows you to tightly control what changes are made. When making the edits, your changes are tracked.
  2. Press Ctrl+Enter to confirm the translation. The translation memory is updated with all the tracked changes accepted.

Preview your changes by hiding tracked changes in Final Mode

To preview what the segments look like with the tracked changes accepted, you can switch on Final Mode. This allows you to double-check the spacing with the changes you have made with tracked changes.

  1. Click Editor view > Review tab > Track Changes group >    Final Mode. The button is highlighted to indicate when Final Mode is enabled.  

  2. Make any corrections to the target translations. These changes are still tracked, however you will not see the tracked change in this mode.

  3. To turn Final Mode off, select this option again.

 

 * For packages created in WorldSever 10.3 and higher.

** For packages created in WorldServer 10.4 and higher.

 

Related Topics

About a WorldServer Package Translation Workflow for a Regulated Industry

Step 1 and 2: Perform Initial Steps for Translation in WorldServer

Step 4: Return Completed Work to WorldServer

Step 5: Send Files for Review from WorldServer