Opening Translation Memories

To view or edit the contents of a translation memory, you must open the translation memory in the TM side-by-side editor window in the Translation Memories view. You can have several translation memories open for editing at the same time, but only one of these can be the active translation memory.

To open a translation memory for editing, select the translation memory from the navigation tree and select Open from the File menu or from the shortcut menu.

When you have finished editing a translation memory, simply close the TM side-by-side editor window that contains the translation memory.

 

NOTE

If you open an SDLX 2007 or SDL Trados 2007 translation memory, the Upgrade Translation Memories wizard is automatically displayed. Use this wizard to convert your translation memories to the SDL Trados Studio format (*.sdltm). For more information, see the SDL Trados Studio 2015 Migration Guide.

Add Translation Memories to the Translation Memories View

Server-based translation memories are automatically added to the Translation Memories view when you set up a connection to a server where translation memories are stored. They are placed in a Translation Memories folder in the navigation tree, below the server name.


File-based translation memories are added to the Translation Memories view using the Open command. When you add a file-based translation memory to the Translation Memories view using Open, the translation memory is added to the navigation tree and is also opened for editing in the TM side-by-side editor window.

Retain Translation Memories in the Translation Memories View

Once a translation memory has been added to the navigation tree in the Translation Memories view, it will stay there until you choose to remove it.

If you remove a translation memory from the view, it is not deleted and you can add it again later.

 

 

 

Related Topics

How to Open a Translation Memory