Open Document

Use the Open Document dialog box to specify the following in your new translation :

To display this dialog box, select File > Open > Document from the menu bar and select a file to open in the Open dialog box that is displayed.  Starting a translation using this method bypasses the selections you make when using the New Project Wizard. For example, you do not specify settings for pre-translation. Using the Open Document command, you can create and save an SDLXLIFF file which contains source language segments only and then, from this, create further SDLXLIFF files which have a target language assigned to them.

Once you have created the SDLXLIFF file, you can modify translation memory settings using the Project Settings dialog box.

 

NOTE

 

  • When you create a translation using this method, a project is automatically created for you and the SDLXLIFF file is added to it. The project is given the same name as the document you opened. Settings for your active document can then be specified in the Project Settings dialog box where you can select translation memories, termbases, AutoSuggest dictionaries and batch processing settings.

  • The options that you define in this dialog box when you first open a document for that language pair, become the default options for this language pair and are displayed in the Options dialog box and are used if you create a project.

Box

Description

Source Language

The original language of the document.

Target Language

The language in to which you want to translate. This box is optional and can be specified later in the Active Document Settings dialog box.

Translation Memory and Automated Translation

The translation memories are ordered by priority (highest priority being the first translation memory in the list). This translation memory priority is used to determine the order in which translation memory suggestions are made.

 

NOTE

You may see disabled translation memories listed here that are not applicable to the language pairs you have selected. These are translation memories that are defined in your default settings in the Options dialog box. They will be removed from your project when you open the document.

 

Add

Click this and select what translation memories and automated translation server you want to add to the project:

  • File-based Translation Memory - Select this to add a translation memory that is stored locally in a file. The Open Translation Memory dialog box is displayed. Browse to the location of the file, select it and click Open.

  • Server-based Translation Memory - Select this to add a translation memory stored on a server. The Select Server-based Translation Memory dialog box is displayed where you can connect to a server and select the translation memories.

  • SDL Automated Translation - Select this to connect to a automated translation server. The  Add/Edit SDL Automated Translation wizard is the displayed. You can select the SDL ATS community account provided with SDL Trados Studio or select one that you provided yourself.  Complete the required information and click Finish to connect to the server and close the dialog box.

  • Google Translate - Select this to connect to the automated translation service, Google Translatetm.jpg.

  • Language Weaver  - Select this to connect to a automated server by Language Weavertm.jpg. The Add Language Weaver wizard is displayed where you can choose the type of Language Weaver service to which you want to connect.

NOTE

Using Google Translate, Language Weaver or the Public SDL Automated Translation Server may violate your nondisclosure agreement with your translation customer. Please check with your customer prior to connecting to this translation provider. The use of this provider  is recorded in the SDL XLIFF bilingual file during translation.

 

Create

Click this and select what type of translation memory you want to create to add to the project:

  • New File-based Translation Memory - Select this to create a translation memory that is stored locally in a file. The New Translation Memory wizard is displayed. Complete the pages of the New Translation Memory wizard and click Close.

  • New Server-based Translation Memory - Select this to create a translation memory stored on a server. The New Server-based Translation Memory wizard is displayed. Complete the pages of the New Server-based Translation Memory wizard and click Close.

Settings

Click this to edit the selected automated translation server or translation memory.

Move Up

 

Select a translation memory or automated translation server and click this to move the translation memory or automated translation server up in the list to change the selected translation memory priority.

Move Down

Select a translation memory or automated translation server and click this to move the translation memory or automated translation server down in the list to change the selected translation memory priority.

Remove

Click this to remove the selected translation memory or automated translation server from the list.

Import

Click this to import translation units from a file to the selected translation memory. The Import wizard is displayed.

Export

Click this to export translation units from the selected translation memory to a file. The Export wizard is displayed.

Name

The name of the translation memory or automated translation server.

Enabled

When this option is selected, the Lookup, Penalty Concordance, and Update options become available. Only the Lookup option is available for automated translation servers.

Lookup

When this option is selected, the translation memory or automated translation server is included in translation memory searches.

Penalty

Select a penalty value. Any filters that have the penalty value specified here are applied to the translation memory.

Concordance

When this option is selected, the translation memory is included in concordance searches.

Update

When this option is selected, the translation memory will be updated with the translated content from the document.

Do not show this dialog again if the language pair settings for the document are known.

When this option is selected, this dialog box is not displayed when you open this document again.

Advanced

Click this button to display the Project Template Settings dialog box where you can specify additional settings for translation.

 

 

Related Topics

About Starting a New Translation

How to Create a New Translation Using Open Document